A large crypt from the beginning of the seventeenth century was only discovered under the church's main altar in 1991. Beautiful bas-relief, black and dark blue pictures of the crucified and resurrected Jesus and the Blessed Virgin Mary as well as praying monks and calligraphy were certainly an added bonus at the church.
Amber shops were on every block serving as a lure to the throngs of tourists who wandered by.
Just one minute away was the Russian Orthodox Church of the Holy Spirit and large monastery. Built in the seventeenth century, it was the only Russian monastery to operate during the Soviet era to serve the Russian Orthodox community. In front of the altar is a glass case containing the well preserved bodies of three Saints martyred in 1347. During Christmas, their bodies are clothed in white; at Lent in black and red on all other occasions. However, on June 26, the bodies are believed to have healing powers and are left naked.
The first photo is just of the Church's entryway; the second is the front of the church. The following ones are of its stunning interior.
A view from behind the small altar:
We didn’t realize that we had taken the stairs that led us to the women’s gallery as it had been, and perhaps still was, an Orthodox synagogue which meant the men below were separated from the women and children upstairs.
Just traipsing to our next spot and came across these gaily painted steps: